Changes to the Advanced Search in Ovid

We are making changes to the default search settings in our Ovid databases, due to user feedback. This will affect searches carried out in Ovid Medline, EMBASE, PsycINFO, Maternity & Infant Care and Global Health databases.

When entering search terms in the advanced search field in Ovid, you’ll have previously been prompted to search the database index for Subject Headings. We’ve now turned this feature off, so that Ovid will search for your terms as keyword(s) by default.

The new, simplified interface will offer more flexibility. By allowing you to simultaneously search across multiple fields, you will retrieve more results.  You will also be able to transfer your search from one Ovid database to another more easily.

The new settings also mean that you will no longer need to know the correct Subject Heading before starting your search.  You will, of course, still be able to use subject headings – just make sure the ‘Map Term to Subject Heading’ box is ticked before you click the Search button. Remember, a robust search strategy will usually use a mixture of keyword and subject heading searches.

ovid
Screenshot of Ovid’s Medline interface with the Map Term to Subject Heading box unticked

We’re also changing the way your results are displayed, by automatically showing you the article abstract as you scroll through your results. This will allow you to see at a glance whether the results will be of use to you.

We hope these changes will help users navigate the Ovid search tool more effectively. If you’d like to feedback on these changes, or would like to arrange training on using Ovid, please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

Advertisements

Information Skills Training Sessions October – December 2018

Info Skills Sessions Oct- Dec 2018 - plasma

Dates for our October – December 2018 Information Skill Training Sessions are below. Please see our information skills training page for full details. Contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book a session.

Systematic reviews – Finding and managing the evidence

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Tuesday 16th October 13:00 – 16:00

Wednesday 28th November 10:00 – 13:00

Thursday 20th December 13:00 – 16:00

Introduction to critical appraisal

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Wednesday 31st October 14:00 – 15:30

Tuesday 11th December 10.30 – 12.00

Citation metrics – an overview

Recommended for: Researchers or SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Tuesday 22nd November 12:00 – 13:00

Finding the evidence

Recommended for: NHS staff

Wednesday 24th October 10:00 – 12:00

Wednesday 21st November 11:00 – 13:00

Thursday 13th December 14:00 – 16:00

Library Inductions for NHS Staff

Recommended for: NHS staff

Wednesday 3rd Oct 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 7th Nov 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 5th Dec 10:00 – 11:00

Keeping up-to-date

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Thursday 29th November 15:00 – 17:00

 

The following courses are available on request, please email liaison@sgul.ac.uk for details

Getting Started with Twitter

Recommended: For anyone wanting to get familiar with Twitter

RefWorks

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Searching databases using EbscoHost

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Searching databases using OvidSP

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Personalised training

If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organise a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

ProQuest down for maintenance: Sun 19 August 3am – 11am

wrench_03On Sunday 19th August between 3am and 11am, the following ProQuest services will not be available due to system maintenance:

RefWorks
Ebooks via the Ebook Central platform (formerly the MyiLibrary platform)

The following ProQuest databases will also be unavailable:

  • ASSIA database
  • BNI (British Nursing Index)
  • ProQuest Hospital Collection (NHS only)
  • PsycArticles (NHS only)

We apologise for any inconvenience that may be cause while ProQuest carry out these maintenance works.

Information Skills Training Sessions July – September 2018

Info Skills Sessions July- september 2018 -blog banner

Dates for our July – September 2018 Information Skill Training Sessions are below. Please see our information skills training page for full details. Contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book a session.

Library Inductions for NHS Staff

Recommended for: NHS staff

Wednesday 4th July 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 1st Aug 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 5th Sept 10:00 – 11:00

Finding the evidence

Recommended for: NHS staff

Friday 13th July 13:00 – 15:00

Weds 22nd August 11:00 – 13:00

Thurs 13th September 11:00 – 13:00

Systematic reviews – Finding and managing the evidence

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Thursday 26th July 13:00 – 16:00

Tuesday 21st August 13:00 -16:00

Introduction to critical appraisal

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Tuesday 17th July 14:00-15:30

Citation metrics – an overview

Recommended for: Researchers or SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Monday 16th July 12:00 – 13:00

The following courses are available on request, please email liaison@sgul.ac.uk for details

Getting Started with Twitter

Recommended: For anyone wanting to get familiar with Twitter

RefWorks

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Keeping up-to-date

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers#

Searching databases using EbscoHost

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Searching databases using OvidSP

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Personalised training

If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organise a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

Information Skills Training Sessions April – June 2018

1

Dates for our April – June 2018 Information Skill Training Sessions are below. Please see our information skills training page for full details and range of sessions available. Contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book a session.

Library Inductions for NHS Staff

Recommended for: NHS staff

Wednesday 4th April 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 2nd May 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 6th June 10:00 – 11:00

Finding the evidence

Recommended for: NHS staff

Friday 20th April 10:00 – 12:00

Wednesday 23rd May 10:00 – 12:00

Thursday 14th June 13:00 – 15:00

Searching databases using EbscoHost

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Tuesday 24th April 11:00-12:30

Thursday 24th May 11:00-12:30

Wednesday 20th June 13:00-14:30

Searching databases using OvidSP

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Monday 9th April 11:00 – 12:30

Tuesday 8th May 14:00 – 15:30

Monday 11th June 11:00 – 12:30

Systematic reviews – Finding and managing the evidence

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Thursday 12th April 10:00 – 13:00

Tuesday 22nd May 13.00 – 16.00

Thursday 21st June 10.00 – 13.00

 

Keeping up-to-date

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

Monday 16th April 14:00 – 15:30

Citation metrics – an overview

Recommended for: Researchers or SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Tuesday 12th June 12:00 -13:00

Getting Started with Twitter

Recommended: For anyone wanting to get familiar with Twitter

Monday 16th April 11:00 – 12:30

Tuesday 19th June 10:00 – 11:30

 

The following courses are available on request, please email liaison@sgul.ac.uk for details

Introduction to critical appraisal

Recommended for: NHS staff & researchers

RefWorks

Recommended for: SGUL/FHSCE staff and students

Personalised training

If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organise a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

Holiday Checklist

Spring holiday - banner

Going to be away from SGUL over the next few weeks? We’ve put together three quick tips that we hope will help with any studying you plan to do, no matter where you are.

  1. Reset your SGUL password
  2. Bring books to the library to renew
  3. Register to study in a library near you

1. Reset your SGUL password

With your SGUL login and password, you can use our journals and e-books, and online resources such as Acland’s Anatomy from anywhere with internet access.

We recommend you reset your password before you leave as this ensures you won’t need to change it again for 3 months.

If your password expires or you’ve forgotten it, you can usually reset it from offsite. Note: you must have already set up an external email address and if you don’t receive the reset link, check your junk mail folder.

sign in to hunter for more features

If you’re using Hunter to find resources, signing in first with your SGUL password will make it quicker and easier to access journals and e-books from offsite. Read more about the advantages of signing in to Hunter in our blog post.

2. Bring books to the Library to renew

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Return and reissue your books to extend your renewal limit

Books and other items you have borrowed from us will now be automatically renewed 10 times, unless another library user has requested them.

To make sure you don’t reach your 10 renewal limit while you’re away from SGUL, we recommend bringing items into the Library so you can return and reissue them on our self-service machines before you leave.

3. Register to study in a library near you

sconul banner

SGUL Library is a member of the SCONUL scheme, which allows our users reference access to around 170 other university libraries across the UK and Ireland. Postgraduates may also get limited borrowing rights in some cases.

sconul map

To use the scheme,  follow the steps on the SCONUL Access page. Within a few days, and provided there are no fines on your Library account, you’ll receive an email from us which you can take to your chosen library along with your SGUL ID card to apply for access.

Like SGUL, many academic institutions in the UK and worldwide use Eduroam for WiFi. If  you are near a university and have WiFi enabled on phone or laptop, you should immediately pick up the network. If you are using Eduroam for the first  time, remember to enter your full SGUL username (including @sgul.ac.uk) and password.

Our website library.sgul.ac.uk is a great jumping off point for accessing the services and resources mentioned in this post.

Information Skills Training Sessions July – Sept 2017

Dates for our July – Sept 2017 Information Skill Training Sessions are below. Please see our information skills training page for full details and range of sessions available. Contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book a session

*New*  Finding the evidence

Finding top quality evidence is a priority for health care practitioners. This new session will introduce the high quality resources available to you as well as provide training in how to use them effectively to support evidence-based clinical practice or decision-making.
Recommended for: NHS staff

Thurs 20th July 15.00 – 17.00
Thurs 24th August 15.00 – 17.00
Tues 12th September 10.00 – 12.00

*New*  Twitter for Promotions

You will learn how to use Twitter for promotional purposes, find out about useful Twitter functions and tools such as Hootsuite and Storify.
Recommended for: Useful for anyone involved in a team or department Twitter account, or thinking of creating one.
Requirements: Users should be familiar with Twitter, as there will be a hands on element to the session.

Tues 15th August 12.00 -13.30

Introduction to critical appraisal
Thurs 27th July 15.00-16.30

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Weds 19th July 13.00 -16.00
Weds 23rd August 10.00-13.00
Tues 19th September 13.00- 16.00

Getting Started with Twitter
Mon 31st July 12.00 – 13.30

Library Inductions for NHS Staff

Thurs 20th July 10.00 – 11.00
Thurs 17th August 10.00 – 11.00
Thurs 21st September 10.00 – 11.00

Personalised training

If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organise a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk