Information Skills Training Sessions April – June 2017

Feel like you are out of practice with literature searching? Looking for new ways to keep up-to-date? Or perhaps you want to create a professional social media presence? Why not sign up for one of our free training sessions held in the library. We have a wide range of sessions, which are free for anyone to attend regardless of if you are a St George’s or joint Faculty student, researcher, staff or an NHS trust member.

Dates are below, see our information skills training page for full details. Please contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book.

*New* Using Twitter for Promotions

You will learn how to use Twitter for promotional purposes, find out about useful Twitter functions and tools such as Hootsuite and Storify.
Recommended for: Useful for anyone involved in a team or department Twitter account, or thinking of creating one.
Requirements: Users should be familiar with Twitter, as there will be a hands on element to the session.

Thursday 25th May 12.00 – 13.30

Finding the evidence: databases and search skills

Searching databases using Ebscohost
Friday 21st April 12.00 – 13.00
Tuesday 23rd May 12.00 – 13.00
Thursday 8th June 13.00 – 14.00

Searching databases using Ovid
Monday 24th April 11.00 – 12.30
Tuesday 16th May 15.00 – 16.30
Tuesday 20th June 10.00 – 11.30

Evidence based healthcare resources
Monday 24th April 14.00 – 15.30
Tuesday 23rd May 10.00 – 11.30
Monday 19th June 14.00 – 15.30

Searching NHS databases
Tuesday 4th April 10.00 – 11.30
Tuesday 2nd May 10.00 – 11.30  Now cancelled
Thursday 25th May 10.00 – 11.30
Tuesday 6th June 13.00 – 14.30
Thursday 22nd June 10.00 – 11.30

Managing information and critical appraisal

Introduction to critical appraisal
Tuesday 9th May 11.00 – 12.30
Wedsday 7th June 15.00 – 16:30

Keeping up-to-date
Tuesday 25th April 11.00 – 12.30
Wednesday 7th June 12.00 – 13.30

Citation metrics – an overview
Thursday 11th May  12.00 – 13.00

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Thursday 27th April 10.00 – 13.00
Wedsday 17th May 13.00 – 16.00
Tuesday 20th June 13.00 – 16.00

RefWorks
Tuesday 16th May 12.00 – 13.00
Friday 16th June 12.00 – 13.00

Getting Started with Twitter
Fri 12th May 12.00 – 13.30

Library Inductions for NHS Staff

Thursday 20th April 10.00 – 11.00
Thursday 18th May 10.00 – 11.00
Thursday 15th June 10.00 – 11.00

Personalised training

If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organise a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

Information Skills Training Sessions Jan – Mar 2017

The Library offers a range of free training sessions to meet your needs, from how to use databases to find the resources you need, preparing you for a systematic review, to helping you create a professional social media presence.

Dates are below, see our information skills training page for full details. Please contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book.

*New* Using Twitter for Promotions

You will learn how to use Twitter for promotional purposes, find out about useful Twitter functions and tools such as Hootsuite and Storify.
Recommended for: Useful for anyone involved in a team or department Twitter account, or thinking of creating one.
Requirements: Users should be familiar with Twitter, as there will be a hands on element to the session.
Mon 13th Feb 12.00 – 13.30

Finding the evidence: databases and search skills

Searching databases using Ebscohost
Wed 25th Jan 12.00 – 13.00
Tues 7th Mar 12.00 – 13.00

Searching databases using OvidSP
Mon 23rd Jan – 10.00 – 11.30
Mon 20th Feb – 11.00 – 12.30
Tues 21st Mar – 14.00 – 15.30

Evidence based healthcare resources
Tues 24th Jan 11.00 – 12.30
Tues 21st Feb 11.00 – 12.30
Mon 20th Mar 11.00 – 12.30

Searching NHS databases
Tues 17th Jan 14.00-15.30
Thurs 9th Feb 11.00-12.30
Thurs 23rd Feb 10.00-11.30
Tues 7th Mar 10.00 – 11.30
Thurs 23rd Mar 14.00 – 15.30

Managing information and critical appraisal

Introduction to critical appraisal
Thurs 16th Mar 10.30 – 12.00

Keeping up to date
Weds 15th Feb 12.30 – 14.00

Citation metrics – an overview
Thurs 23rd Feb 12.00-13.00

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Weds 18th Jan 13.00-16.00
Tues 21st Feb 13.00-16.00
Thurs 23rd Mar 10.00- 13.00

Refworks
Email: liaison@sgul.ac.uk to arrange a time

Getting Started with Twitter
Fri 27th Jan 12.00 – 13.30

Personalized training

If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organize a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

 

Information Skills Training Sessions Oct – Dec 2016

The Library offers a range of free training sessions to meet your needs, from how to use databases to find the resources you need, preparing you for a systematic review, to helping you create a professional social media presence.

Dates are below, see our information skills training page for full details. Please contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book.

Personalized training
If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organize a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

*New* Using Twitter for Promotions
Mon 12th Dec 12.00 – 13:30
A follow up to our Getting Started with Twitter workshop, you will learn how to use Twitter for promotional purposes. Centred around a case study, you will find out about useful Twitter functions and relevant third party tools such as Vines, Hootsuite and Storify.

Evidence based healthcare resources
Tues 25th Oct 10.00 – 11.30
Tues 29th Nov 14.00 – 15.30
Mon 19th Dec 11.00 – 12.30

Searching databases using Ebscohost
Thurs 1st Dec 12.00 – 13.00

Searching databases using OvidSP
Tues 8th Nov 10.00 – 11.00
Weds 7th Dec 13.00 – 17.00

You can also email liaison@sgul.ac.uk to arrange the following session:

  • Searching NHS databases

Managing information and critical appraisal

Introduction to critical appraisal
Tues 8th Nov 15.00 – 16.30

Keeping up to date
Tues 15th Nov 12.00 – 13.30

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Tues 18th Oct 10.00 – 13.00
Thurs 24th Nov 10.00 – 13.00
Weds 14th Dec 13.00 – 16.00

Getting started with Twitter
Thursday 17 Nov 12-1.30pm

You can also email liaison@sgul.ac.uk to arrange the following sessions:

  • Citation metrics – an overview
  • Refworks

Library inductions

Introduction to St. George’s Library and health information for NHS staff
Weds 19th Oct 11.00-12.00
Weds 16th Nov 11.00-12.00
Weds 14th Dec 11.00-12.00

 

Information Skills Training Sessions Jul – Sept 2016

The Library offers a range of free training sessions to meet your needs, from how to use databases to find the resources you need, preparing you for a systematic review, to helping you create a professional social media presence.

Dates are below, see our information skills training page for full details. Please contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk to book.

Personalized training
If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organize a bespoke session please email us at liaison@sgul.ac.uk

Finding the evidence: databases and search skills

Evidence based healthcare resources
Thursday 28 Jul 10.30 -12pm
Tuesday 23 Aug 3-4.30pm
Wednesday 21 Sept 3.30-5pm

You can also email liaison@sgul.ac.uk to arrange the following sessions:

  • Searching databases using Ebscohost
  • Searching databases using OvidSP
  • Searching NHS databases

Managing information and critical appraisal

Introduction to critical appraisal
Thursday 25 Aug 10.30-12pm
Wednesday 14 Sept 3-4.30pm

Keeping up to date
Thursday 19 Jul 11am-12.30pm

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Thursday 26 July 1-4pm
Tuesday 30 Aug 1-4pm
Thursday 29 Sept 10am-1pm

*New *  Getting started with Twitter
Monday 15 Aug 12-1.30pm

You can also email liaison@sgul.ac.uk to arrange the following sessions:

  • Citation metrics – an overview
  • Refworks

Library inductions

Introduction to St. George’s Library and health information for NHS staff
Wednesday 10 Aug 10am
Wednesday 7 Sept 10am

Information Skills Training Sessions Jan – Mar 2016

The Library offers a range of free training sessions to meet your needs, from how to use databases to find the resources you need, preparing you for a systematic review, to helping you create a professional social media presence.

Dates are below, see our information skills training page for full details. Please contact liblearn@sgul.ac.uk to book.

Personalized training
If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organize a bespoke session please email us at liblearn@sgul.ac.uk

Finding the evidence: databases and search skills

Searching databases using Ebscohost
Tuesday 9 Feb 12-1pm
Friday 26 Feb 12-1pm
Friday 11 Mar 12-1pm

Searching databases using OvidSP
Thursday 14 Jan 1-2pm
Thursday 18 Feb 1-2pm
Thursday 17 Mar 1-2pm

Evidence based healthcare resources
Tuesday 23 Feb  3-4.30pm
Wednesday 16 Mar 3-4.30pm

Searching NHS databases
Tuesday 19 Jan 11am-12pm
Thursday 11 Feb 10-11am
Thursday 17 Mar 10-1am

Managing information and critical appraisal

Introduction to critical appraisal
Tuesday 9 Feb 3-4.30pm
Wednesday 23 Mar 3-4.30pm

Keeping up to date
Wednesday 27 Jan 11am-12.30pm
Tuesday 22 Mar  1-2.30pm

Citation metrics – an overview
Thursday 11 Feb 12-1pm

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Wednesday 20 Jan 1pm-4.30pm
Thursday 10 Mar 10am-1pm

Refworks
Friday 22 Jan 12-1pm
Monday 22 Feb 1-2pm
Wednesday 23 Mar 12-1pm

*New *  Twitter for Beginners
Wednesday 17 Feb 12-1.30pm
Monday 14 Mar 12-1.30pm

Library inductions

Introduction to St. George’s Library and health information for NHS staff
Wednesday 20 Jan 10am
Wednesday 24 Feb 10am
Wednesday 16 Mar 10am

Library <3 Library StART

New for 2016 the Library is launching a series of monthly promotions – Library Loves. Featuring different resources and events, Library Loves will support your learning, teaching, research and practice by helping you get the most out of the Library and our resources, and we hope at the times when most needed. So with out further ado, it’s the start of the year, it’s the start of Library Loves and we are looking at Library StART…

Library loves library start

With deadlines fast approaching in January, some of these questions may be looming large:

How do I answer my essay question – what information do I need to do it?
How do I find and get that information?
Can I reference Wikipedia? How do I know I’ve got ‘the good stuff’?
What is Harvard Style, how can I make sure I’m getting it right?

Library StART (St George’s Assignment Research Toolkit) has been designed to help you navigate all these questions and more, with specific reference to how you can use resources available via the Library here at St George’s to support your assignments.

You can either work through the whole tutorial for a complete overview of how to find good quality information to support you assignment, or dip in to the section where you are stuck – the main sections are:

  1. Identify – do you need background information or something more specific, what sort of resource can you use to find it
  2. Find – step by step help and video guides on how to find and access resources via St George’s Library from books to journal articles using Hunter.
  3. Evaluate – how to assess the quality of the resource you have found, and judge whether they are suitable for use in your assignment
  4. Reference – how to acknowledge information sources in your assignments, and avoid plagiarism

Library StART is freely available online, and if you can’t find what you are looking for check the Need more help?  section.

Library StART is device responsive so will also work well on your mobile or tablet – watch our YouTube video to see how it works

 

Find out more

We’re running a Library StART pop-up in the Social Learning Space outside the Library on Wednesday 20th January 12-2pm
Library Start

Cupcakes provided!

cupcakes

Information Skills Training Sessions: October – December 2015

Feel like you are out of practice with literature searching? Looking for new ways to keep up-to-date? Or perhaps you want to know more about critical appraisal? Why not sign up for one of our free training sessions held in the library. We have a wide range of sessions, which are free for anyone to attend regardless of if you are a St George’s or joint Faculty student, researcher, staff or an NHS trust member.

Dates are below. Please see our information skills workshop page for full session outlines. You can contact liblearn@sgul.ac.uk to book.

Personalized training
If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individuals or larger groups depending on your needs. To organize a bespoke session please email us at liblearn@sgul.ac.uk

Searching databases using Ebscohost
Tuesday 20th Oct 13.00 – 14.00
Thursday 19th Nov 13.00 – 14.00
Thursday 17th Dec 13.00 -14.00

Searching databases using OvidSP
Tuesday 13th Oct 13.00 – 14.00
Thursday 12th Nov 13.00 – 14.00
Tuesday 8th Dec 12.00 – 13.00

Introduction to critical appraisal
Thursday 22nd Oct 15.30 – 17.00
Thursday 26th Nov 10.30 – 12.00

Keeping up to date
Tuesday 10th Nov 11.30 – 13.00

Citation metrics – an overview
Friday 13th Nov 12.00 -13.00

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Tuesday 13th Oct 14.00 -17.00
Thursday 5th Nov 13.00 – 16.00
Wednesday 2nd Dec 10.00 – 13.00

Online tools and tips for the digital researcher
This session will provide an overview of online tools, including social media, to collaborate, share information and raise your research profile.

Tuesday 15th Dec 14.00 – 15.00

*New* Getting Started with Twitter
This session is aimed at those new to, or considering using, Twitter but want to know more first. We will give you an overview of how Twitter works, discuss why you might want to use it and offer a hands-on practical workshop to explore this growing social media platform. The session will particularly focus on how Twitter can be used in a professional context.

Monday 26th Oct 12.00 – 13.30
Monday 16th Nov 12.00 – 13.30

Evidence based healthcare resources
Thursday 15th Oct 15.00 – 16.30
Tuesday 24th Nov 15.00 – 16.30
Thursday 17th Dec 10.30 – 12.00

Searching NHS databases
Friday 9th Oct 15.00 – 16.30
Wednesday 21st Oct 10.00 – 11.30
Wednesday 4th Nov 10.00 – 11.30
Tuesday 17th Nov 14.00 – 15.30
Monday 30th Nov 15.00 – 16.30
Tuesday 15th Dec 11.00 – 12.30

Introduction to St. George’s Library and health information for NHS staff
Wednesday 28th October 10am
Wednesday 25th November 10am
Wednesday 16th December 10am