Information Skills Training Sessions April – June

Come along to one of our free sessions to brush up on your information finding or evaluating skills, or book onto one of our newer sessions to find out more about how to use citation metrics to your advantage, or  the online tools that are useful to researchers.

Dates are below, see our information skills workshop page for full details. Please contact liblearn@sgul.ac.uk to book.

Personalized training
If you cannot make any of the times, we are happy to arrange sessions for either individual or larger groups depending on your needs. To organize a bespoke session please email us at liblearn@sgul.ac.uk

*New course* Online tools and tips for the digital researcher
This session will provide an overview of online tools, including social media, to collaborate, share information and raise your research profile.
Wednesday 24 June 12-1pm

Searching databases using Ebscohost
Tuesday 21 April 12-1pm
Thursday 14 May 12-1pm
Thursday 4 June 12-1pm

Searching databases using OvidSP
Monday 27 April 1-2.30pm
Tuesday 12 May 2-3pm
Wednesday 17 June 4-5pm

Refworks (this tool is available to SGUL staff and students)
Thursday 23 April 12-1pm
Tuesday 19 May 12-1pm
Friday 26 June 12-1pm

Introduction to critical appraisal
Thursday 30 April 1-2.30pm
Thursday 25 June 10.30am-12pm

Keeping up to date
Wednesday 6 May 3.30-5pm

Citation metrics – an overview
Friday 22 May 12-1pm

Systematic Reviews – Finding and managing the evidence
Wednesday 17 June 10am-1pm

 Evidence based healthcare resources
Friday 24 April 1-2.30pm
Thursday 21 May 3-4.30pm
Thursday 18 June 10.30am-12pm

Searching NHS databases
Tuesday 28 April 10-11.30am
Wednesday 13 May 10-11.30am
Friday 29 May 2-3.30pm
Tuesday 16 June 10-11.30am
Tuesday 30 June 10-11.30am

Introduction to St. George’s Library and health information for NHS staff
Wednesday 29 April 10am
Wednesday  20 May 10am
Wednesday 24 June 10am

SGUL Library information skills training dates – April to July

The latest SGUL information skills training dates are now available.

These training sessions are free to all staff and students who are members of SGUL. All except Refworks are also available to NHS staff
members

Searching databases using OvidSP (Medline, Embase, PsycInfo)

This session is for those who need to carry out more in-depth research, such as for a literature review, dissertation, research project etc.

Thursday 24 April 12-1pm
Tuesday 13 May 1-2pm
Wednesday 18 June 12-1pm
Tuesday 22 July 12-1pm

 

Searching databases using EbscoHost (Cinahl, Medline, Amed)

This session is for those who need to carry out more in-depth research, such as for a literature review, dissertation, research project etc.

Tuesday 8 April 12-1pm
Thursday 15 May 12-1pm
Tuesday 17 June 12-1pm
Friday 11 July 12-1pm

 

Finding information for your topic

This session will improve your information searching skills and use some of the Library’s tools for finding information

Wednesday 9 April 12-1pm
Wednesday 14 May 12-1pm
Tuesday 10 June 12-1pm
Tuesday 15 July 12-1pm

 

Citation Searching and Impact Factors

Use the Cited Reference Search in the Web of Science to find out which papers are highly cited in your field; find out which journals are highly
cited using the Journal Citation Reports database.

Thursday 22 May 12-1pm

 

Introduction to Critical Appraisal

This course will introduce the concepts of critical appraisal and give an overview of the tools and techniques which can be used.
Wednesday 23rd April10.30-12.00pm
Wednesday 25th June 10.30-12.00pm

 

Keeping Up to Date

Keeping up-to-date with recent publications is vital for staff and researchers. This training course covers a range of services that will help you stay
current in your area.

Tuesday 22nd April 2.00-3.30pm
Wednesday 18th June 3.4.30pm

 

RefWorks

Introduction to a web-based application for managing your references (University staff & students only). RefWorks is free to use for SGUL staff and
students using their SGUL network login.

Tuesday 6 May 12-1pm
Thursday 19 June 12-1pm

 

Click here for more details on each session.

 

Booking a place
Please email liblearn@sgul.ac.uk if you would like to book a place